Galactic Exploration Book 1: The Serengeti


A novel, a course in astrophysics, a lesson in the theories of Albert Einstein all wrapped up in the guise of fictional galactic voyage.  Serengeti is the first story in a collection of 4 novellas written by Peter Cawdron.

Sharing the book’s title, the Serengeti roars through space, not at unattainable speeds depicted in Star Trek and the numerous ships that explored the Universe throughout our childhoods, but at 99% of the speed of light.  Making a trip to another galaxy not possible by a simple splay of light and a screen blend on the t.v. but a multi-generational task handed down from one captain to the next.

“And yet, even at such radical relativistic speeds, he knew the frozen image before him would take decades for the slightest change to appear.  The universe was so vast as to defy reason.  The distances were so immense that a life time of travel at almost the exact speed of light would barely make any perceptible difference at all.” – Excerpt from Serengeti

Taking the romance out of interstellar travel Cawdron gives us the depressing reality of solidarity that a true traveler would endure to reach beyond mankind’s grasp.  Man is bio-replicated for the century long journey, engineered being, using and discarding old workers, making human life the oil filter of civilization’s conquest.  Generations lost just to maintain the quest of the unknown.

While Book 1 tends to be on the slow side from the perception that space travel books ultimately end up in physical struggle and adventure.  The psychological exploration of the future generations and outcomes bring the book much closer to the mind bending and thought-provoking tales of a life times journey and it’s cost.

Book 1: Segengeti   B+

About The Shogun of Baseball

Geek, lover of Baseball, avid comic reader, Bruce Lee fan, follower of Jesus and last but Never least Dad and Husband. View all posts by The Shogun of Baseball

4 responses to “Galactic Exploration Book 1: The Serengeti

  • Adelina

    I bought this book when they were all separate parts. I had read Anomoly after reading your review and I really liked it. I bought this because I was hoping for an anomoly like story but I thought Sarengeti was too slow for my tastes, I am not in to that voyager/star trekie kind of non-adventure type of sci-fi. I saw that the author had put out a few additiol books and then compiled them in a collection. Are the others similar in style? Are they a continued story that somehow connect?

    • ObiWanCanubi

      Hi Adelina,

      Thank you for reading, I am glad one of my reviews actually encouraged someone to check out a book. Anomoly really was a top notch story.

      Serengeti was on the slow side, I can see how it can be difficult for a person not into technical science fiction to have difficulty connecting with the story. I can not answer as to the connection of the stories with one another because I am still only on book 2 of the 4 part series. I am currently reading Trixie and Me and it seems that it has the potential for a more action style story, but I am only half way through, but I will review it when I am through for sure.

  • Eric

    nice review, I enjoyed this read. The entire collection was a fun time.

Leave a Reply

