BOOK REVIEW: Anomaly


Before Christmas the prospect of me reading a book by an indie author was slim-to-none.  Not that I wouldn’t care to read a book not written by an author not named King, Asimov, Poe or Dickens, but for a person that shops within his comfort zone of large retail book stores and his local library how would I find something so obscure.  When I look for a book I hit the new release racks and browse the bindings, familiarity is what would catch my eye, and frankly if I had to choose between a no name and Grisham, I am reading Grisham every time because the likelihood of disliking the book is much like my earlier chances, slim-to-none.

Christmas changed all that when my wife bought me a shiny new Kindle.  The world of books immediately expanded.  Shopping has never been so much fun.  I always though an e-reader would take the book out of my hand and lose the beauty of discovery.  While that is true, it also opens doors a library could never open.  I click on a few favorites and Amazon is recommending me all worts of things I would never find on my own, people I have never heard of and the reviews tell their own tales.  While I will grab a stinker from time-to-time I am sure, the ability to step outside of my comfort zone is proving the grass is really greener on the other side.

The first indie book I have read is Anomaly by Peter Cawdron.  If you are looking for a book to occupy you for a weekend or pass a Boston-to-New York bus ride then this is the book for you.

A school teacher under-achieving in the world finds himself dumped in the middle of the biggest discovery for mankind, proof of life outside of our World.  Though a bit unbelievable that NASA would step aside and invite a middle school teacher to run the show and take his advice I suppose it make just about as much sense as a everyday man that can fight his way through an enemy base with only a bloody nose to rescue the President when entire trained special forces squads found themselves shot and beaten.  The true underdog story is what makes readers happy and keep coming back, the thought that one day they too could be Bilbo Baggins or Bob Lee Swagger.

I have read a few reviews calling this “fan fiction” or High School quality short story, I think these people are missing the main ingredient… Indie. Mr. Cawdron may not have the literary skills of top authors, but he also doesn’t have their proofreader and editors pouring over his every word.  If you have the foresight to look past some average writing you will find an amazing story in the clear fashion of Contact by Carl Sagan more about the discovery then the adventure.

Anomoly may end up a million miles from how “first contact” happens, that is if it has not already taken place, but it is right on track with the methodology of a true discovery between species.

I would highly recommend this book to a friend with the expectation we would be having a similar positive opinion discussion following their read.

I found it funny that the author chose to “easter egg” his own 1st book in the closing moments of the story.

A- or 4 1/2 stars!

About The Shogun of Baseball

Geek, lover of Baseball, avid comic reader, Bruce Lee fan, follower of Jesus and last but Never least Dad and Husband. View all posts by The Shogun of Baseball

3 responses to “BOOK REVIEW: Anomaly

Leave a Reply

