BEST of 2010: Casual Video Game


Boy this category was hard.  Now I won’t lie, until recently I played Mafia Wars on Facebook for quite a while, probably just over a year I think.  Not that I really liked the game, but as a true gamer you like to finish games, problem with the Social Network games is that they are like herpes – forever.  You just keep playing and they just keep developing content it is like a horse with a carrot on a stick, you will never quite reach the prize.

So after some thinking, and more thinking then thinking some more I give you this:

Cafe World

I don’t like this game, in fact I think it is just plain silly.  If you want to work in a restaurant, go cook or waitress.  But my wife loves this game and I am naming it the winner of this category for her.  Don’t say I never do anything for you baby.

Personally I play video games for imagination and things I can not do in real life.  I would enjoy being a Jedi and battling evil, they don;t exist so I play video games.  I would love to jam a basketball and make millions playing in the NBA, I can so I play video games.  I would say something about Grand Theft Auto here but I don’t want the police at my door.

Seriously video games are about making the unreal, real.  Cooking and serving food in real-time is not fun in my opinion.  But Zynga is making millions because everyone wants to spend $30 bucks to have pink fences on their farm and heart-shaped tables in their cafes…. you are brilliant Zynga, truly brilliant.

About The Shogun of Baseball

Geek, lover of Baseball, avid comic reader, Bruce Lee fan, follower of Jesus and last but Never least Dad and Husband. View all posts by The Shogun of Baseball

2 responses to “BEST of 2010: Casual Video Game

Leave a Reply

