Today Dom DiMaggio Will Teach My Gram to Hit a Slider


Last month we lost Mark Fidrych all to early in a tragic accident. Early this morning Dom DiMaggio passed away in his home, he was 92 years old.

I never seen the guy play, and he spent his legacy over shadowed by his big brother Joe, but this guy was truly a great of the game. I don’t judge him for the 34 game hit streak or his 7 All-Star Game appearences, this guy is a favorite of mine for a different reason.

Back on June 16th of 1990 he was in the now defunct Ann & Hope of Topsfield where my grandmother worked. She seen him and asked him to sign a copy of the book he had just written, “Real Grass, Real Heroes” about the historic 1941 baseball season. Not only did he graciously sign it but the inscription said:

To Jamie, From your favorite Grammy and Dom Dimaggio. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

I doubt many sports figures these days would take the time to inscribe a birthday present for a grandson. This is a woman who knew nothing about baseball but batted 1.000 in getting me the perfect presents. In her older years when she was a widow she gave me a birthday card with a 1979 George Brett card for a gift. George had since retired from baseball, but as a kid he was my favorite growing up. I asked he how she knew and she said, “I may not know baseball, but I listen when you talk, and I never forget.” The card had a giant kink in it and rounded corners, worth virtually nothing in a card shop, but priceless to me.

Thanks Grammy, Love you.

About The Shogun of Baseball

Geek, lover of Baseball, avid comic reader, Bruce Lee fan, follower of Jesus and last but Never least Dad and Husband. View all posts by The Shogun of Baseball

Leave a Reply

